Selecon Commitment to Function and Efficiency

09 July 2007,

Auckland, New Zealand, 20th June 2007 – Selecon is delighted to have had their efforts in continuous product development acknowledged by the Association of British Theatre Technicians with the following commendation delivered by Robin Townley at their Annual Awards dinner for 2007.

"It was again very impressive to see Selecon continuing to develop and improve their product lines with the introduction of the third instrument in their Performer Series Followspot range, the long throw 4º-8º Toru; and also the updated Acclaim 650W Fresnel. The Association wishes to commend Selecon for their commitment to the improvement of both the function and efficiency of their luminaires and are heartened to see a manufacturer persisting with a long term commitment to such a development programme."

Back on the floor of the ABTT Theatre Show the Selecon team, represented this year by David Wilkins and Louise McCoy from Selecon UK, Mike Goldberg, Selecon Europe and managing director, Jeremy Collins from Selecon New Zealand, was in turn heartened and encouraged to note the growing number of young technicians visiting the Selecon booth talking enthusiastically about their ‘Selecons’ and their experiences with using them and leaving sporting the colourful Stage Lighting Tools for Everyone stickers!

Contributing further to the energetic buzz at the new-look dynamic and theatrically-influenced Selecon booth was the competition where 4 lucky winners picked themselves up a Leatherman Charge TTI tool:

Draw 1 - Bob Proudfoot, Sound Tech at the Theatre Royal Norwich

Draw 2 - Peter Gibbon, General Manager at QTP Ltd

Draw 3 - Joe Vassalo - student at the Central School of Speech & Drama

Draw 4 - Adrian C. Smith - Head of Drama at Sandwich Technology School

Selecon congratulate all our winners and thank everyone else who threw their name into the tombola for their participation.

Huge thanks also to our industry colleagues who drew prize winners for us, left to right - David Taylor, ARUP, New York; Michael Scott, Royal Opera House and John Offord, Editor for Entertainment Technology and ETNOW.